White Day (ホワイトデー Howaito Dē)


I turned up for Shiseido White Day on 14 March only to learn that this is a special day practised in Japan and South Korea. Someone mentioned Taiwan, but I’m not too sure about that. Anyone?

Apparently, in Japan, Valentine’s Day (14 Feb) is observed by females who present chocolate gifts (either store-bought or handmade), usually to a male, as an expression of love, courtesy or social obligation. A handmade chocolate is usually preferred by the receiver, because it is a sign that the receiving male is the girl’s “only one”. On White Day, the converse happens: males who received a honmei-choco (本命チョコ?, “chocolate of love”) or giri-choco (義理チョコ?, “courtesy chocolate”) on Valentine’s Day are expected to return the favor by giving gifts, usually more expensive. (Taken from Wikipedia)

I’m not too sure this is something that will catch on in Singapore, but I reckon one month is too much time given to the men to consider a lady’s “proposal”. It would be such a torture for the ladies who are waiting!

Nonetheless, I had a lot of fun at the event, with 2 lovely hosts and invited guests all dressed in white. It was a very pretty sight!

It was hard to keep from laughing and smiling because the two guys were so funny! Bobby and Leslie. I hope I didn’t get their names wrong, if I did, I’m sorry and please leave me a comment!

One of the non-smiling moments.

I shared with the crowd some of my personal beauty tips.

Then there was a lucky draw with some lovely prizes. I made a face because there were so many names, I felt bad for those whose names I didn’t manage to pick.

Signing on a pledge.

Beauty bloggers and I with our pledge.

A very fragrant bouquet of lilies was presented to me! They made my car smell so good after.

And oh, please don’t forget to vote for me in Systema’s  Most Charming Smile award here.

9 responses to “White Day (ホワイトデー Howaito Dē)

  1. lol thanks joanne fer the great comment. We had fun as well at the white day. Plus you are a great and sporting celebrity guest. Have a great week ahead. 🙂

  2. Joanne is performing at Bukit Timah Rocks @ That Place! 10 Apr 2011 8pm, tickets available at Bukit Timah CC @ $3 (includes admission to the Live Performance/Disco, 2 drinks and Lucky Draw). Hoping to win the 3-hour cruise on board a private chartered pleasure craft 🙂

  3. Yes you got our names right! Thanks for the compliments!
    We love you Joanne!!!

    The dumbly duo,
    One old malay man & one young handsome chinese boy,
    Bobby & Leslie

  4. Hi Joanne,
    I like the white tiered dress you wore to the Shiseido White Day Event.. You look very pretty in it.. =)
    May i know what is the brand of your dress?? I will like to get for my best friend’s wedding as i am one of her jie mei…
    Hope to hear from you..

    Cheers

    Yan Lin

  5. Hey Joanne,
    Looking great and nice dress ! May I know where is it from? =)

  6. hi joanne, my mum’s a shiseido user and I was jokingly telling her that you can endorse everything but shiseido. I was shocked at how fair you are now, as compared to the tale of 2 cities,when you are so tanned natural self. How did you do that? Btw, what’s the fastest and most effective way to tone up -which gym exercises? thanks 🙂

  7. hi..great body language!! keep it up!!

  8. hi…. great smile!! great body!! .. keep it up!!

  9. oh wow. I love your dress and I think your pearly teeth matched the colour of your dress. So pretty. Big fan. xoxo

Leave a comment