Last Madame — The Love Scene


Me playing Fung Lan in Last Madame
Treading on dangerous waters with Inspector Mak
The love scene between Fung Lan and Inspector Mak

It took me a long time to decide if I would go nude for our bed scene in Last Madame. A story set in a brothel in the 1930s, we can’t shy away from sex. The tension between my character and Inspector Mak began the moment we met and the flirting continued. It was bound to happen, it was just a matter of when and where. 

It was a big step for me as an actress to go bare in front of the production crew and my fellow actor. I had my uncertainties and insecurities, but I decided to do this because the context of the story and character motivations were fully justified and I believed in it. It wasn’t just about love-making, it was my character learning to love and trust again, and a transitional milestone for both our characters. I had full trust in my co-star Jeff Chou, respect for my director and confidence in the camera crew before saying yes to my EP Jean. 

I was nervous of how it would eventually look on screen because there were no previous local TV references and so many things could go wrong, but when I finally saw the EP’s cut, I was moved by the emotions of the scene, and realised in that moment that I made the right decision. Because showing two bodies moving in unison captured the passions and inner conflict of the two characters so vividly, it had pushed the show to a different level. 

You’re welcome Jean, now go binge watch Last Madame on Toggle.

Leave a comment