With Love from Paris (Goyard)


Customised Goyard bag

Some years ago, an air steward friend of mine told me about Goyard bags. He recommended the St Louis Tote to me, but at that time I didn’t appreciate it, thinking that it’s just an overpriced piece of canvas. My thoughts were: It’s so light and flimsy-looking, how can it bear heavy weight? The truth is, it is stronger than it looks.

After doing a bit of search on the Internet, I now understand why. Goyard makes luggages, so it’s no surprise they use ligh-weight and durable materials.

Here’s a bit about the brand:

Goyard is a French malletier (trunkmaker) founded in 1853, and is now currently the oldest trunk maker in existence.

In the past, the Grand Duke of Russia, the Maharajah de Kapurthala, The Duke and Duchess of Windsor and many aristocratic families, all travelled with Goyard luggage. And their special orders have always been an important part of Goyard’s reputation.

Goyard is known for its hard-sided trunks, and small accessories. All pieces are covered in a signature hand-painted patented Chevron canvas made of cotton, linen, and hemp and displayed in various colors. The chevron canvas was created in 1892, traditionally produced in black and red.

Goyard is renowned for monogramming the durable, lightweight canvas with the initials of their customers upon request.

(Information from http://europeandesigns.net/goyard.shtml)

After all that introduction, here’s a peak at what I got:

A very sweet Apple Hong who just got back from Paris brought this back for me! It came complete with the paper bag too!

It's such a joy opening it up!!

My St Louis Tote PM in White (€580). It feels light but sturdy, and if you look closely, all the stitching are done to make sure the handles don't break and the bag doesn't split at the sides.

Comes attached with a little pouch

I just love the hand-painted details. This is a piece of art!

20 responses to “With Love from Paris (Goyard)

  1. really nice ! a beauty taking beautiful bag . really matches ! ;P

  2. nice! i love the pouch.

  3. Its always nice that owns a white bag, looks elegant n pure hee. This Goyard bag really nice! It attached with a small pouch which is ve suitable for females to put small stuffs inside keke~
    Thanks for intro, i gotta look out for this brand =D

  4. wow!!! yes, a very nice n simple bag!!!! but issit easy to be cleaned? cause i owes find it troublesome esp when the white bag get ‘yellowish’ over time.

  5. How lovely! I saw a yellow one in the exact same design on a Japanese lady at the Paris boutique too, and was really tempted to buy it ;p

  6. it’s really pretty!!! =)

  7. joanne,does apple travel around europe alot?

  8. Hi Joanne

    The price that you quoted is for a GM. Is your white st louis a PM or GM ? Thanks..:)

  9. what is the diff between pm and Gm?

    • Hi Ah Lian,

      I don’t know the exact meaning behind PM and GM.
      My layman knowledge is as follows:
      PM refers to the small size and GM is like the largest size. There’s also a MM, which is the medium size.
      I think that’s what it is, anyone who knows better please share! Thanks!

      Hope that helps.

      Love,
      Joanne

  10. hi Joanne,
    someone from ebay just emailed me the diff between Pm and GM

    Pm size – 19 x 11 x 6
    Gm size – 22.5 x 12 x 7

    love you blog….
    xxxxx

  11. hi joanne:)

    the sizes for goyard st louis are:

    jr.- small/ junior
    pm – medium
    gm- large

    and it seems that the price that you paid for is for the gm.

    my friend got her pm for 444 euros after tourist travel tax rebate 🙂 the gm cost at around 5oo+ euros.

    enjoy yo9ur bag 🙂

  12. hey joanne

    Love your blog, its intelligently written and interesting. Kudos!

    Your Goyard is a beauty. Do let me know if you ever intend to sell it cos I’ll be first in line!

    rgds
    Pat

  13. hi! i’m waiting for my goyard st louis tote to arrive! how’s your bag doing so far? I’ve seen a couple of st louis totes in rodeo drive that already lost its shape or are already sagging 😦

    are you using a base shaper? if it’s ok, can i ask for the size of the base so i can look up base shapers 🙂 thanks!!!

  14. The Boeing is their best…..55

  15. Hi Joanne,

    Where do you go to for cleaning of your Goyard? Mine got dirtied (the inside), with sauces and I need to get it clean soonest. Hope you can help me with that. Thanks!

  16. where exactly in paris did you buy your goyard bag??the store exactly and the place..thanks

  17. hi! how much is the Goyard St.Louis PM & GM ? a friend of mine is going to Paris on feb 17. i’m asking her to buy me a tote but i have to know how much i’ll give her.

    thanks so much!!!!

  18. I would really like to buy the white Goyard but I’m worried that it will get dirty with use, can you tell me a little bit of the difference once used? Does it peel in the edges?

Leave a comment