New Year Shanghai Cows


I took this picture when I was travelling alone in Shanghai last year. It wasn't even Christmas yet and there were small stores selling Chinese New Year decorations and cards. I can't imagine what it was like in January when the retail sector gets ready for Chinese New Year. I haven't had time to sit down and organise my photos or blog about my trip and to be honest, I think I just might not be able to have a complete travel journal, because I didn't keep one when I was there. It's one of the things I hope to get done this year. Haha, what a new year resolution eh?
I took this picture when I was travelling alone in Shanghai last year. It wasn’t even Christmas yet and there were already small stores selling Chinese New Year accessories and cards. I contemplated getting these but I assumed they would come to Singapore during Chinese New Year. Sure enough I saw them hanging by the racks in Chinatown last month, but somehow the “local” ones just didn’t seem to look quite the same as those I saw in Shanghai. Maybe it’s the traveler’s syndrome. I wish I had time to sit down and organise my photos and blog about my Shanghai trip the moment I came back while the images and emotions were still fresh. Hopefully that’s something I’ll get done some time this year.

Travelling alone is always an enriching experience. It is also during this time that I see and feel the most. If I may borrow a quote from the launch issue of Asia Geographic Passport to sum up why I enjoy travelling by myself so much, it would be, “It is when you realise how ill-equipped and alone you are in this world that your journey truly begins.”

39 responses to “New Year Shanghai Cows

  1. 只想告诉你一件事。。
    我有寄了一封信给你~
    那如果你收到的话!!
    希望你能在这里告诉我一声~
    谢谢。。
    新年快乐^^

    小颜

  2. I went Shanghai last year also~ XD

  3. travelling alone? hehe, wish i could join u there 🙂

  4. wow, i went SH in dec last year when it was really cold. came back sick for a month 😐

    thanks for the nice photos and writeups!

  5. heyys joanne. tys 4 all e fotos…. update more! 🙂

  6. Joanne, did you make this blogskin yourself?
    If yes, how did you insert the link that allows you to comment on each post? what is the html code for that?
    Hope you could help me. thanks.

    Love,Vanessa

    • Hi Vanessa,

      WordPress has the tools already in place. It’s not created from scratch, the skin is a template that allows the owner to customise the header, so quite idiot-proof for people like me who knows nothing about html code or creating blogskins. 🙂

      Love,
      Joanne

  7. 哈咯,Joanne姐姐,我很想知道你的生肖是什么和生日是在几时哦。。。咔咔~~ok吗。。不可以也没有关系哦~~

    呵呵,很想看到你本人哦,只是。。我住在malaysia,不可以来singapore,而且我又没有护照,所以,只能在电视机里看到你~~

  8. i have one of those cows at home 🙂

  9. Hey Joanne,
    I saw tis cow toy in Miri, Sarawak
    It looks like the same com…muuu…..
    Happy Chinese New Year!

    And tks for all the photos tat u put on yr blog!
    All nice! ^^

  10. melissa miss joanne

    heyy joanne jiie!

    HAPPY ‘NIU’ YEAR! GONG XI FA CAI! MAY THE YEAR BRING U GOOD HEALTH,GOOD FORTUNE,STAY YOUNG AND PRETTY ALWAYS! NIANNIAN YOU YU!!

    anyway i am already in Melbourne.and 2nd day of class redi,something different as new environment,new friends and have to learn to be independant! as parents will be in Singapore..so im kinda alone here liao! missing home!….

    joanne jiie, wad do i need to do if i were to stressed up??
    like,tips how to calm or relax?

    i still need advices from many people though!

    hope to hear from u soon 😛
    miss yah lots! TAKE CARE!!!

    Love,
    melissa

    • Hi Melissa,

      U’re adding too much stress on urself. If u keep focusing on how different everything is and how alone u are, the fear will creep up at you. Try to embrace the new environment, take the initiative to make new friends and treat everything with curiosity. When u focus on learning about the new place, it’ll distract u from the comfort zone u’re missing from home. I hope..! 🙂 Be careful and don’t take safety for granted!

      Love
      Joanne

  11. The only bad thing I can think about is that there’s no one to take photo of yourself and the nice background.

    Any good place to recommend to go travelling alone?

  12. Hi Joanne,
    Shanghai was a nice plc to travel, beijing oso not bad I guess.

    Rgds,

  13. Ahh… i see. i like your header. 😀 did you use photobucket or photoshop? you did the header yourself?

    Vanessa

  14. 发了几次信息,好像是没有提交。
    Life is like a journey, not a destination.what matters is the scenery along the way and the mood of scenery, let the mood to travel!
    人生就像一场旅行,不必在乎目的地,在乎的是沿途的风景以及看风景的心情——让心情去旅行!

    我不知道我的人生将是什么样的旅行,也许它五颜六色,绚丽多彩;也许它暗淡无光,很平淡;也许……
    或许我更喜欢平平淡淡的人生,平凡如水的旅行,没有想过,从来都没有想过那平淡的尽头是否是我的目的地,就像那句广告词里的,沿途的风景已经可以让我们有了比到达目的地更快乐的心情!
    然而,我们的旅行是否也太单调了。不知道有多少人会这样盘问自己这个问题。生活是对生命真实的阐述吗?人生就是要有事业、家庭、爱与情和情与爱吗?
    “美人忘容,花则忘香,人在气中忘气,鱼在水中忘水”–假如我们可以忘记我们的目的地,或许我们可以更轻松的到达我们的目的地!
    我是一个喜欢幻想的人,总喜欢在想象中得到一些快乐,假如我要去旅行,我会想象途中我都会遇到什么样美妙的事情,我从来没有想过我30岁做什么,会得到什么,会拥有什么样的生活,我只想每天快乐地度过,充实自己;而幻想就成为我的闲暇时的伴侣了!
    如果心可以插上翅膀,思念就可以飞的很长。我们的旅行会在浩瀚的天际里像彩虹一样美丽!
    有时会更喜欢一些感伤的事情,也喜欢去感伤,也许这也是旅行途中少不了的添加剂吧!
    快乐总是短暂的,而一味的快乐会让我们感到快乐也是一种无乃没味的东西了!
    既然是旅行,我们就得准备些旅行的东西和旅行的心情,让心情去旅行!而路途中的一切会让我们更加成熟,使我们的生活更加充实!
    人生不就是一次漫长的旅行吗?为什么不用心去欣赏旅途中的风景呢?为什么不让心灵做一次快乐的旅行?
    就像人生,不停得追赶着,跌倒,爬起,一次次得重复,脸上是厚厚的尘土和那一抹疲惫的倦色,说它很苦,每次都会有痛,说它很甜,有幸福时的笑,说它酸,生活中的调剂让人感伤,说它咸,眼角的泪是脆弱的痕迹……

  15. 哦,Joanne姐姐,你还没有回复我的啊。。。。

    小敏

  16. Hi Joanne Peh,

    Last yr u go shanghai u saw the cow.. Then last month u at chinatown saw the cow but u said is a bit different from the shanghai.. But at the end did u buy the cow at chinatown?? I like the cow so much.. haha.. My home got one red colour one.. hehe.. Last time i watch the佳节年华 u all went 2 chinatown, i saw the cow at tv lo.. so cute..haha..

  17. melissa miss joanne

    Hey Joanna Jie!

    Thanks for your advice! But sometimes i may not be good with words and therefore sometime i dunno wad to say…i ready have a couple of friends and wishes to make MORE friends but sometimes i just dunno how to start…being in a new environment is a good start for me as i’ve never been left alone and never have to fend for myself as parents have always been there for me. Studies is going well for me right now at the momment, Hope in the future as the work gets tougher and tougher i will still be able to cope!!…anything can ask you??

    Love,
    Melissa:)

    • Hi Melissa,

      There are people who care about u too, look out for Disney’s advice! I’m so happy that my blog allows fans/readers to share problems and offer solutions, so feel free to ask for advice here and I’m sure u’ll feel better too!

      Love,
      Joanne

  18. hey melissa

    you’re a very priviledged gal you know, 3 years will fly by in a flash.. so enjoy your uni experience 🙂

    one of the ways to ease into the environment, go for the day trips organised by the groups or international student societies. you’ll get to know people from other countries & enjoy the sights. melbourne is such a compact city and yet so ‘european’. st kilda’s beach, victoria mkt.

    Try going to the pot luck dinners organised by your housemates. if you really miss home alot, view you**be videos of sg drama. it helps & you’ll almost feel like you are back home again.

    even though you know you’ll miss your friends and sgp, don’t overdo it… 🙂 coz the best time you’ll have is when you’re not in singapore. and these are special memories you’ll have in years to come coz we do these things when we’re young once!

  19. I wanna go holiday on my own too! But im still not ready yet, both financially and mentally. Guess gonna wait till few more yrs that i’ve finish school and get a job. I always wanna visit Japan ^^

  20. “It is when you realise how ill-equipped and alone you are in this world that your journey truly begins..”

    Hi Joanne,
    It’s good to know that someone enjoys travelling alone as much as I do. People think it’s stupid to travel alone, because there’s no one to share the beautiful scenery you see with, and perhaps share and experience the same joy you feel too. Nonetheless, sometimes a journey alone makes you appreciate and treasure what you have now.

    All the best in your career, and hope to see more of your good works!

    Love,
    Hui Jun

  21. Oh. 😀 thanks.

  22. melissa miss joanne

    hey disney!
    thanks for ur advice!!
    yeappx redi went to victoria market..hahaha..how u know i am in uni??
    hmmmmm..u mean youtube?? search wad?? cos tudou also need wait for people upload then can watch..hahaha..yeahx

    im already more or less adapted to here and…sometimes will miss home…true…we only get to do this when we are young!!

    Gambette~

  23. melissa miss joanne

    hey joanne jiie!!
    yapx,im also happy to recieve receive from fans/readers and you!! but wad u the advices u told me last time i still havent forget..and its time i can apply it!! 🙂
    i might be coming back sg in june..for maybe 2 weeks or less…provided i dun have anything to do in melbourne like studies etc. If i were to come back,really hope can see u also also celebrate my advance birthday as my birthday is in August…yeahx..im getting old..hahahaha…
    so how was filming going along? everything alright??

    Love,
    Melissa:)

  24. wow travelling alone is quite carefree. can go wherever u want at any time as u wish. though it may be lonely sometimes, like u feel like talking but there’s no one by ur side to share ur joy. hope u’ve taken lots of pics!

  25. 一个人的旅行是孤单的,不过那的确让自己有机会成长的时候。期待你的下一次分享!
    “世界的美是因有你的分享” ;)

  26. Hi Joanne jie jie,

    I went Shanghai long time ago..Why do they need to sell Chinese New Year accessories and cards so early??

    So are u fliming any new drama yet??
    I did also open a new blog..if u have time pls visit its http://www.vanilazangel.wordpress.com
    I didnt really have time to upload my pictures coz all the homework in school its too much for me!! I will try to upload more photos as soon as posible..

    ~Claudia~

  27. Hi joanne,

    I am so shocked when i know you like travelling to other countries your own self. Wahh! you are so independent 😀 i enjoyed travelling with my mother to other countries because we always do our shopping together.

    Regards,
    Josica ❤

  28. travelling alone??! I oso have plans for that……….it just that there r many things have to be taken into consideration by travelling alone, like safety and the expenses would be higher….

    sob sob…

  29. 想问你。。
    不知你是否收到我的信了?!
    希望你可以给个回复~
    谢谢^^

    小颜

  30. 已经一个星期多了。。
    会不会是有问题?!
    怎么办?!

    小颜

  31. Joanne,

    Wow! *clapping hand* I admire you bravery so u’re girl alone in country! I shall learn from you.
    Soft cows had selling smaller to bigger size and gold/red in colour from Beijing. They are cute!

    J.O.

Leave a Reply

