我和母亲的约会


最近掀起了对手工艺品的兴趣。昨天《小娘惹》开镜,看到向云姐做的一个拼布工艺的小包包,对它情有独钟,决定有空带母亲去看看她说的那间店。我母亲对这些特别感兴趣,而且都是自己看书学来的,所以我觉得她好厉害!她很节俭,不会花钱买漂亮的布料来做,所以希望这趟能让她大有收获。

昨天晚上,我向母亲讨教如何用勾针编制,这是我的第一个样本,手工不好,还在学习不同的勾法,有些上瘾了!哈哈!

献丑了!

My mom loves handicraft and all things related to thread and fabric. She used to lament my lack of interest in it (I much prefer cooking and baking), but recently, I seem to pay more attention to hand-made items! Yesterday during “Little Nonya” Opening Ceremony, I saw Xiang Yun-jie’s patchwork bag and was truly inspired to turn this craft into something I can do with my mom.

My mom picked up knitting and crochet and patchwork/quilting from books and I truly admire her passion and patience, so last night, we sat at the dining table, and I asked her to teach me how to crochet. What you see is my very first attempt at learning the different stitches. I hope to embark on a project soon, because this is quite addictive!

31 responses to “我和母亲的约会

  1. Hi Joanne,

    Been reading ur blog for quite sometime…. Love it lots! Cos u never fail to perks my day… I love ur photos & all… Sometimes jus lazy to read all those wordy wordy post but tru ur “photo speaks louder than words” Hehhe…
    Jia you!

    iCe

  2. hi,美女 may i know u go bangkok stay in which hotel, tks

  3. It’s great to see 2 languages on a post! What a great idea.
    Best of both worlds! Cheers!

  4. For your first try, it is not bad.. Jia You!! Remember to put more pictures of your craftwork!! All the best=)

  5. hehe, maybe every mom loves handicraft

  6. I love the purple and white colour scheme. It looks lovely. 😉

    Yeah, I think crochet is really cool. You crochet lots of stuff like handbags, pencil cases, pouches, scrunchies…etc, and I find it super cool!

    Good luck on your new show, and I’m looking foward to it! 😀

  7. SWEETY!!!! I MISS YOU AND I WILL BE GOING TO SEE YOU ON SATURDAY!!!! THIS TIME ROUND, THERE IS AFFINITY INVOLVE! =) WS will be going as well! STAY HAPPY ALWAYS!!! I AM LOOKING FORWARD! XP

  8. The crochet looked well done considering that it’s only ur 1st attempt… My grandma loves to knit/crochet and used to be very gd at it, but she’s no longer able to do it now due to her bad eyesight… Tried learning abit from her in the past but was nvr gd at it… Haha! But i love to juz sit there quietly and look at her knit/crochet whenever she’s at it in the past… Ur entry really brought back alot of happy memories! =)

  9. Hi! Joanne

    Your handicraft is looking nice colour what a meaningful. You and your mom are both happy together and long may it. How about quilt?

    Smile,
    angeline

  10. Joanne

    Can you tell me how I do remove underlines from the pictures each? It’s for wordpress. please, Thank you

    Smile,
    angeline

  11. Joanne, I thought you did really well in your first attempt at knitting… I cant wait to watch ‘beach Ball Babes” when I get back 🙂

    In the meantime, some abominable soul is gonna get hurt REAL BAD!!! Im not gonna say out his name here, but most of the people here should know this abomination VERY WELL.

  12. hey joanne,
    i kind of find these stuffs fun too.
    but well, studying is still the first priority :X

    jiayous in your new film, you look younger when you cut your hair, but you look more mature in long hair.
    well, you just look great la, no matter wad 😀
    it depends on how you see it.

    all the best 😀

  13. hi joanne,
    wat time is qiu ai timeslot for sat?

  14. hello
    not bad for the 1st attempt, jia you…
    u really must hv the patience to do it..haha…btw vivien loves doing all those things..hehe

  15. Sweety, will i get to see u in mediacorp tmr??? Walao everytime i go back u never go back de! XDDD NO FATE!!! XD

  16. 呵呵,有时间跟妈妈学学手艺很不错了。虽然我对这种针线活一窍不通,不过看样子你第一次尝试的成果不错嘛。
    很高兴我第一次留言你就回我了,现在经常上你的博客看有没有更新。发现你是一个非常乐于分享且善于分享的人哦。你从你的分享中得到了快乐,而我也通过你的分享认识了一个真实的你,最重要的是你对一些问题的看法也常常让我对一些问题的思考多了一些角度,也更加深刻。会一直默默地去关注你的成长。

  17. It’s nice!! And i must say u r getting prettier!! 🙂

  18. 哇!才第一样本已经这么好看了,我试了几个还比你糟多了

  19. ~hihi joanne(:
    gud luck 4 evertink euu do and do not give up no matter how hard izzit(:
    takes care..
    smiles,
    RENIE:D

  20. wa euu s0 bz..haha same here..doin my homework and revising my work..arh..haiz..
    c euu
    takes care{:
    smiles,
    RENIE:D

  21. euu very chi0 sia..

  22. well, u nid a lot of patience wen u do handicraft..well,when i first tried,i realli feel lyk throwing the stuff away and giving it up,bt i told myself juz try..if still cannot den throw it away bt at last i still manage to do it(:bt the tink look very horrible haha(:
    takes care(:
    smiles,
    renie:D

  23. O-zaki Simizutoro

    Hi Joanne, the new Drama in Channel8 9p.m tiltle: Volley ball. may i know you what kind of character in side the drama.

  24. DEAR O-zaki Simizutoro,

    In “Beach.Ball.Babes”, I play twins. The older sister is a spiker in the volleyball team, and captain. She’s intelligent, confident, capable but died in an accident. The younger sister, Rainie, lacks self confidence, and struggles to pull the family together while constantly living in her older sister’s shadow. I can’t use a few words to describe her character in the drama, so you’ll have to watch to find out more! 🙂

    Joanne

  25. Hi Goh,

    I don’t know what time is my timeslot for Sat. 😦

    Joanne

  26. Hi Angeline,

    Erm, I think u need to de-link your pictures for the line to disappear.

    Joanne

  27. Hi Kah,

    There are plenty of service apartments and boutique hotels that are affordable in Bangkok. I’m not the best person to advise you, but u can try searching the Internet. Sorry!

    Joanne

  28. hi hi…

    this is gin, my first insert of comments.

    actually crochet is not a difficult craft to learn. it is really an interesting hobby. i love this hobby a lot. crochet is my passion and love. i have been doing this hobby for coming 20 years. i am always happy whenever i’ve completed a crochet project. at times, i also do some of my crochet stuffs to friends as birthday gifts.

    when you’re working on crochet, one of the notes you gotta remember is your tension. it is important to keep your hands relax when you’re holding the needle and thread so that the project you’re working on is consistent. and it’s true – it’s addictive. once you’ve started you don’t wish to stop. hehehe…

    what matter most is not to give up on things or when you face any difficulties.

    keep on working on it. hope to see your final project. ok! =)

    cheers
    gin

  29. O-zaki Simizutoro

    Hi Joanne, may i know when i will know i will get to join the

    Nike With you. 🙂

    Love Joanne

  30. Hi Joanne, you actually play twins in the show? I didnt even know that!

  31. O-zaki Simizutoro

    Hi joanne, Your pictures inside this very nice, can you sent it to my Hotmail. thanks .

Leave a comment